1. What is NEDA?

– The National Economic and Development Authority (Pambansang Pangasiwaan sa Kabuhayan at Pagpapaunlad), abbreviated as NEDA, is an independent cabinet-level agency of the Philippine government responsible for economic development and planning. It is headed by the President of the Philippines as chairman of the NEDA board, with the Secretary of Socio-Economic Planning, concurrently NEDA Director-General, as vice-chairman.

2. What is the legal basis of NEDA?

– NEDA was created in 1972 through Presidential Decree No. 107- The present form of the NEDA was organized by President Corazon C. Aquino on July 22, 1987 through Executive Order No. 230. It defined the composition of the NEDA Board and the Secretariat and its powers and functions, the powers and functions of the Authority and its committees.
– On July 26, 1994, President Fidel V. Ramos signed Memorandum Order No. 222 which reactivated the NEDA Board Executive Committee and mandating that the decisions of the NEDA Board Executive Committee shall be final, executory and binding upon the NEDA Board.
– On July 27, 1992, president Ramos signed Republic Act No. 7640, which constituted the Legislative-Executive Development Advisory Committee (LEDAC). The LEDAC serves as a consultative and advisory body to the President as the head of the NEDA and gives advice on certain programs and policies, which are essential to the realization of the goals of national development.

3. What are the functions of NEDA?

– The powers and functions of the NEDA reside in the NEDA Board. It is the country’s premier social and economic development planning and policy coordinating body.- The Board is composed of the President as chairman, the Secretary of Socio-Economic Planning and NEDA Director-General as vice-chairman, and the following as members: the Executive Secretary and the Secretaries of Finance, Trade and Industry, Agriculture, Environment and Natural Resources, Public Works and Highways, Budget and Management, Labor and Employment, and Interior and Local Government.- Pursuant to Sec. 4 of EO 230, empowering the President to modify the membership of the Board whenever deemed necessary, the following members have been added:- The Secretaries of Health, Foreign Affairs, and Agrarian Reform (per Memorandum Order No. 164, dated 21 March 1988); the Secretary of Science and Technology (per Memorandum Order No. 235, dated 19 May 1989); and the Secretary of Transportation and Communications (per Memorandum Order No. 321, dated 26 September 1990). In addition, the Secretary of Energy (per R.A. No. 7638, approved Dec. 9, 1992) and the Deputy Governor of the Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas (per Section 124 of R.A. No. 7653, approved June 14, 1993) have been added as members of the NEDA Board.- Assisting the NEDA Board in the performance of its functions are seven cabinet-level interagency committees.

These are as follows:

a). Development Budget Coordination Committee (DBCC)
b). Infrastructure Committee (InfraCom)c)
c). Investment Coordination Committee (ICC)
d). Social Development Committee (SDC)
e). Committee on Tariff and Related Matters (CTRM)
f). Regional Development Committee (RDCom)
g). National Land Use Committee (NLUC)

4. NEDA Structure

– The NEDA Secretariat serves as the research and technical support arm of the NEDA Board. It also provides technical staff support and assistance, including the conduct of studies and formulation of policy measures and other recommendations on the various aspects of development planning and policy formulation, and coordination, evaluation and monitoring of plan implementation. It is headed by a Director-General, with the title of Secretary for Socio-Economic Planning. He is assisted by three deputy directors-general each of whom is responsible for:

1. National Development Office (NDO):
a). National Planning and Policy Staff (NPPS)
b). Agriculture Staff (AS)
c). Trade, Industry and Utilities Staff (TIUS)
d). Infrastructure Staff (IS)
e). Social Development Staff (SDS)
f). Public Investment Staff (PIS)

2. Regional Development Office (RDO):
a). Regional Development Coordination Staff (RDCS)
b). Project Monitoring Staff (PMS)
c). Regional Offices (NROs)

3. CentraI Support Office(CSO):
a). Management Staff (MS)
b). Legal Staff (LS)
c). Administrative Staff (AdS)
d). Information Technology Coordination Staff (ITCS)
e). Development Information Staff (DIS)

5. What are the attached agencies of NEDA?
-The attached agencies of NEDA are the following agencies:
a). Tariff Commission (TC),
b). Public-Private Partnership (PPP) Center,
c). Philippine National Volunteer Service Coordinating Agency (PNVSCA),
d). National Statistical Coordination Board (NSCB),
e). National Statistics Office (NSO),
f). Statistical Research and Training Center (SRTC), and
g). Philippine Institute for Development Studies (PIDS).

Moreover, the, Philippine Institute for Development Studies (PIDS) is attached to the NEDA for policy and program coordination or integration.